How to get luminous glowing skin

Its winter time again and I really think the cold hit this weekend with a vengeance! I’m really not the biggest fan of winter, if I could I would hibernate until the sun decides to bless us with its beautiful rays!

I am also feeling slightly under the weather and I’m totally blaming it on the cold! Even with a million layers on (My arms even struggle to move sometimes) I still can’t seem to keep warm. I could gladly spend everyday snuggled up on my bed under my blankies with my electric hot water bottle (sounds more appealing doesn’t it).

So with the cold comes my dry and dull looking skin. I just don’t seem to get the glow I want in winter that my skin gives off in the summer, this is also due to the fact that I have eczema so even though I normally have dry skin I have extra extra dry skin in the winter time! So to help I thought id share some tips on how to get that luminous glowing skin that the likes of JLo and Kim Kardashian-West are known for rocking, and yes we can get it too even in winter =). So here are the steps:

1. Moisturise/Prime your face

You need to feed your skin even more so in winter so it is essential to invest in a good facial moisturizer or primer. This gets your skin ready for all the products you are going to put on it by creating a smooth foundation as well as hydrating the skin making it easier to apply product. Id also say to get a product that has a sunscreen included (direct sun rays are already bad for our skin and even more so in winter so do not think you don’t need to put on that sunscreen in the winter!) The product I use as my base is the Eucerin Dermo Purifyer Day cream with SPF30.

Eucerin

2. Foundation

After you have moisturized and left it for a few seconds to set you can then apply your foundation. Whichever foundation that works best for you will do! But I do suggest one which isn’t too mattefying and you want to achieve the “dewy” look which basically means that your face looks soft and has a bit of the natural shine to it. Liquid foundations tend to achieve this look. The foundation I use is the MAC Prolongwear. I tend to also alternate between this and the Studio Fix Fluid Foundation ( I Love them both!).

MAC

3. Highlight and Contour

You want to highlight the areas of your face that will stand out and catch the light that is why you use a lighter shade (1-2 shades lighter than your regular foundation colour). You will apply the highlight to the centre of your forehead, just underneath your eyebrows, the centre line of your nose, under your eyes and just bellow the hollows under your cheekbones, on your chin and on your cupids bow (the dip on the top of your top lip).

Contouring is to give your face definition (It should be a shade 1-2 times darker than your foundation shade). It gives the illusion of shapes on your face by giving it a shadow of sorts. For example it creates shadows on each side of your nose to give the illusion of a slimmer nose. The contour should be applied to the semicircle of your forehead right under your hairline, on each side of the bridge of your nose, in the hollows of your face right under the cheek bones and on your jaw line.

It should look as follows:

H and C

You want to take your time blending these out. DO NOT blend the highlight and contour with one sponge or brush and do not mix them together as it totally defeats the purpose of creating a dark and light on your face. The products I use to highlight and contour my face are the Anastacia Beverly Hills Cream Contour Pallette or the LA Girl Pro Concealers (I use a light and a dark one).

LA Girl Pro Concealer

4. Set your skin

After all that hard work you want to make sure that it stays put and doesn’t move around during a day of wear. So to set the highlight you want to use a light powder. I love the Ben Nye Banana Powder (It also gets rid of my dark circles under my eyes) and to set the contour you want to use a darker powder, I like to use the Wet and Wild Mega Bronzer.

Ben Nye Bronzer

5. Blush

I like to add a little bit of colour to the apples of my cheeks to give that rosy or peachy tint. I don’t think you need to spend the earth on a blush and actually love the budget friendly alternative option that is Essence Silky Touch.

Blush

6. Shimmer

So you know how JLo and KIm have that shiny little highlight on the top of their cheek bones, when they take pictures and the light catches? I love that. I’ve found that you can use the Physicians Formula Mineral Glow Pearls. Just use your finger, a fan brush or the brush included in the pack and apply some on the top of your cheekbones as well as down the bridge of your nose. When the sun or light catches it you’ll have that stunning glow!

Highlighter

7. Set the look

The last step. We want our makeup to last the entire day, we also want to hydrate our face and give that natural dewy glow. To achieve this you want to use a setting spray. My personal favourite is the MAC Fix Plus spray, just spritz some all over your face and your good to go!

Fix Plus

And those are my tips to achieving that natural glow, even in the midst of winter! brrrrrrr

I hope you found this helpful!

xx

Steph

Leave a Reply

